top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenny Terrell

School's out!



Why hello all! Brandon here. Been a while since I've been the one posting on this blog (major props to Jen for keeping it up and running). If you can't tell already, I'm starting to feel a bit more like myself these days. Over the past week and a half, I've had the last lingering drain removed (thank the stars!) and I've started actually eating and enjoying food again. I know. It's been a long time since I've enjoyed sitting down to eat a meal, and since last Thursday, eating three squares has been a constant thing. Does it have something to do with my sister flying in from Denver to spend the weekend with us? Well, she sure seems to think so! :) Of course, if it's true, I'll totally take it, because we've had some fantastic dinners! I still haven't had a cheeseburger, but all in good time. I've been on TPNs since returning home from the hospital last, which, if you're unfamiliar, means I'm hooked up to an IV through my pic line while a bag of nutrients and vitamins are pumped into me overnight. This kept me afloat while food was still 'blah.' But now that I'm getting stronger and eating better, the docs are weaning me off the TPNs. I should be totally done with them tomorrow night. I'm also still feeling a bit weak and dizzy when I walk, a lingering effect of my low hemoglobin count. It's creeping up though, so I should be able to ditch the cane I'm using soon (which I naturally named Michael).


The timing for my turnaround is perfect because, of course, the two little rugrats are done with school for the summer! Hard to believe we now have a first and a fifth grader on our hands. They'll be back home with me from time to time, but will also be heading to various camps over the summer to give Dad quiet time to work (which I'm thankful to be back at again, as well).


I feel like I can't say this enough, but thank you all so much, from the bottom of my heart, for everything you've all done - and continue to do - in the past two-plus months to help our family out. I'm constantly amazed and humbled by you all. We appreciate it all so very much. This is just the first phase of my healing, but I'm happy to say I'm feeling a lot more like the old Brandon (but at high school Brandon weight). :)


More soon,

B

224 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

This Coming Saturday - BT Kickball Classic!

Thank you for joining us all on a fun day to celebrate Brandon with a great afternoon of gathering with friends and family and playing kick ball for the Brandon Terrell Kickball Classic! Please share

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page